Wednesday, August 03, 2011


Will Allen Stauffer-Norris graduated cum laude with a bachelor of arts in integrated environmental science from Colorado College.

Catherine Collier and Anne Herring, both of Radford, received degrees from Washington and Lee University in May.

Laura Kleiner of Blacksburg was named to the spring 2011 dean's list at Mary Baldwin College.

George Perkovich of Blacksburg was added to the dean's list for the spring 2011 semester at Wofford College.

Stephanie Wong of Blacksburg and Tia Greene of Christiansburg graduated from Cornell University.

The following students were named to the dean's list of Emory College, the undergraduate, liberal arts college of Emory University, for the 2011 spring semester: Alleyne Ross of Christiansburg and Wei Liu of Radford

Andrew Cummings of Blacksburg received a doctoral degree from the Emory University School of Law.

April Scruggs of Riner earned a master's degree in forensic psychology from Marymount University.

Emma Riegert of Blacksburg was named to the dean's list at the University of Charleston for the spring 2011 semester.

Anya Horning of Christiansburg was added to the dean's list for the spring semester at Eastern Mennonite University.

The following are local graduates of the Roanoke Valley campus of National College:

Flora Dema of Blacksburg

Frances Mason-Mullins of Blacksburg

John Steager of Blacksburg

Rana Calloway of Christiansburg

Cynthia McFarland of Christiansburg

Caleb Ogilvie of Christiansburg

Melanie Penn of Christiansburg

Juliann Poff of Christiansburg

Joy Wimmer of Christiansburg

Holly Henninger of Copper Hill

Kathleen Cooper of Elliston

April Dickerson of Elliston

Camela Gathercole of Elliston

Craig Eisenbrown of Floyd

Deidra Webb of Floyd

Crystal Mason of Narrows

Michelle Odum of Riner

Angela Stump of Riner

Ashley Milliner of Shawsville

Stephanie Nicole "Nikki" Lewis of Newport News, a graduate student in Virginia Tech's interdisciplinary doctoral program in genetics, bioinformatics and computational biology, received the prestigious Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award for Predoctoral Research from the National Institutes of Health.

Gerhardt Schurig, dean of the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine at Virginia Tech, assumed the presidency of the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges on July 18 at the association's 2011 Summer Meeting in St. Louis.

Radford University will award its first doctoral degrees this summer, an achievement not only for the recipients but also for the university as it joins seven other Virginia public universities granting doctorates. DeEtta Compton of Radford and Arneda Faye Lyons of Dublin will receive their doctorates of nursing practice in August, said Kimberly F. Carter, director of the School of Nursing in Radford's Waldron College of Health and Human Services.

Weather Journal

News tips, photos and feedback?
Sign up for free daily news by email