Sunday, February 06, 2011

Blue Ridge District wrestling: Staunton River nips Northside

The Golden Eagles prevailed when the Vikings lost in the heavyweight final.

Timesland on Twitter

Correction (Feb. 6, 2011): ): An earlier version of this story had an incorrect name for Lord Botetourt wrestler Aaron Gunter who won the 171-pound division


Correction (Feb. 8, 2011): The score of the 285-pound final was incorrect in an earlier version of this story.

MONETA -- Host Staunton River narrowly prevailed over Northside 152 12 -149 12 at the Blue Ridge District wrestling tournament Saturday, clinching the victory when the Vikings' 285-pounder Marque Johnson was unable to score any team points in the final match of the two-day, 168-bout competition.

Lord Botetourt heavyweight Mike Jones defeated Johnson 3-1 in the final, the fourth time he has beaten Johnson this season.

Botetourt placed third in the tournament with 148 points, followed by William Byrd (129) and Alleghany (116).

Each school had at least one tournament champion.

"We love Mike Jones," said Staunton River coach Ron Long, whose team could only watch and hope as the heavyweights from two other schools tangled in the tournament's finale. The Golden Eagles trailed Botetourt by two points entering the championship round, but overtook the Cavaliers by winning all five of their title matches. Botetourt had seven wrestlers in the finals, but emerged with only three district winners (Seth Carlton at 112, Aaron Gunter at 171 and Jones).

Staunton River got gold medals from Jacob Thompson (103 pounds), Anthony Rezzonico (126), Zakk Moorman (130), Paul Williams (152) and Chris Tyree (160). Rezzonico defeated Alleghany's Cole Murphy 1-0 and Moorman beat William Byrd's Garfield Harris 2-0 in overtime.

"If [Rezzonico and Moorman] lose, we lose," Long said.

"I'd wrestled [Murphy] twice before this season and beat him both times," Rezzonico said. "But he's seen all my moves. I was just trying to keep him from getting away at the end. I don't think I could have beaten him in overtime."

Moorman, who broke his fibula in the Titan Toughman tournament in early December, returned to practice at the beginning of this past week, yet was in sufficient condition to last an extra minute of overtime when he took down Harris and nearly pinned him.

"I was trying to get the extra points for my team," Moorman said.

Williams and Tyree both won convincingly for Staunton River (a 13-2 major decision and a 15-0 technical fall, respectively), but also were unable to pin their opponents in the finals.

Those extra pin points that got away from Moorman, Williams and Tyree loomed especially large when Northside picked up six-point wins in successive weight classes (Matt Sandoval at 189 by default and Ryan Moran at 215 by first-period pin) and only needed a decision (four team points) at 285 to edge the Eagles for the team title.

"I told our team today that this was going to come down to one or two points at the end," said Northside coach Mark Agner, in his 34th year as a high school coach.

Jones was named the district's outstanding wrestler of the year and Long received coach of the year honors.

The top four finishers in each weight class advance to Region III competition next week.

Team scores

1. Staunton River (SR) 152.5, 2. Northside (N) 149.5, 3. Lord Botetourt (LB) 148, 4. William Byrd (WB) 129, 5. Alleghany (A) 116.


103 -- Jacob Thompson (SR) p. Jacob Cunningham (WB) 1:16; 112 -- Seth Carlton (LB) d. Dakota Scott (A) 11-4; 119 -- Derek Burhenn (A) p. Cody Craft (N) 3:52; 125 -- Anthony Rezzonico (SR) d. Cole Murray (A) 1-0; 130 -- Zakk Moorman (SR) d. Garfield Harris (WB) 2-0, OT; 135 -- Derek Sheehan (WB) p. Travis Herald (A) 5:12; 140 -- Donte Collins (N) p. Daniel Lloyd (LB) 3:15; 145 -- Andrew Saunders (N) tf. Trey Markvart (LB) 16-0; 152 -- Paul Williams (SR) md. Graysen Hagin (LB) 13-2; 160 -- Chris Tyree (SR) tf. Dylan Broyles (N) 15-0; 171 -- Aaron Gunter (LB) d. Nathan Sizemore (A) 7-6; 189 -- Matt Sandoval (N) won by default over Jesse Corl (LB); 215 -- Ryan Moran (N) p. Zach Thurman (WB) 1:16; 285 -- Mike Jones (LB) d. Marque Johnson (N) 3-1.

Third-place consolation

103 -- Roger Horn (A) md. Dax Hodges (LB) 12-4; 112 -- Merritt Pino (SR) d. Josh Birch (N) 6-0; 119 -- Josh Helm (WB) p. Tyler Custer (SR) 1:41; 125 -- Michael Bryant (WB) tf. Cameron Nelson (LB) 21-4; 130 -- Queng Nguyen (N) d. Zac Reed (A) 6-4; 135 -- Bryan Barnett (LB) d. Daniel Sandoval (N) 4-2; 140 -- Forest Walters (SR) p. Michael Crosswhite (WB) 0:46; 145 -- Teddy Martin (WB) p. Will Prowse (SR) 4:13; 152 -- Zach Gribble md. Edgar Turcios (N) 13-2; 160 -- Matt Bower (LB) p. Joe Tolley (A) 4:26; 171 -- Jacob Bailey (WB) p. Patrick Love (SR) 2:03; 189 -- Zach Johnson d. Sean Hogan (SR) 5-3; 215 -- Dustin Deisher (SR) d. Brandon Winger (LB) 6-2; 285 -- Chris Broughman (A), no contest.

Weather Journal

News tips, photos and feedback?
Sign up for free daily news by email